The diencephalon is the area of the brain that connects the cerebral hemispheres to the brain stem. The diencephalon is divided into four areas, the thalamus, hypothalamus, epithalamus and subthalamus. As a component of the brain, the diencephalon is also part of the central nervous system (CNS)

All content and media on the HealthEngine Blog is created and published online for informational purposes only. It is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice and should not be relied on as health or personal advice. Always seek the guidance of your doctor or other qualified health professional with any questions you may have regarding your health or a medical condition. Never disregard the advice of a medical professional, or delay in seeking it because of something you have read on this Website. If you think you may have a medical emergency, call your doctor, go to the nearest hospital emergency department, or call the emergency services immediately.