The rotator cuff is the name for the group of muscles in the shoulder which enable the humeral head to rotate within the joint capsule. The rotator cuff limits the range of motion of the shoulder and this function provides the most stability to the joint. The muscles which make up the rotator cuff are the subscapularis, supraspinatus, infraspinatus and the teres minor.

More information on the Shoulder Joint.

All content and media on the HealthEngine Blog is created and published online for informational purposes only. It is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice and should not be relied on as health or personal advice. Always seek the guidance of your doctor or other qualified health professional with any questions you may have regarding your health or a medical condition. Never disregard the advice of a medical professional, or delay in seeking it because of something you have read on this Website. If you think you may have a medical emergency, call your doctor, go to the nearest hospital emergency department, or call the emergency services immediately.