The pituitary gland is a small, oval gland lying at the base of the brain. It is divided into two sections, anterior and posterior.

The anterior pituitary is a collection of cells that produce hormones, including thyroid-stimulating hormone (TSH), adrenocorticotrophic hormone (ACTH), follicle stimulating hormone (FSH), luteinizing hormone (LH), prolactin (PRL), and growth hormone (GH). The release of the hormones by these cells is controlled by the hypothalamus.

The posterior pituitary is made up of around 50,000 nerve endings and produced anti-diuretic hormone (ADH) and oxytocin. These nerves release their hormones straight into the blood.

All content and media on the HealthEngine Blog is created and published online for informational purposes only. It is not intended to be a substitute for professional medical advice and should not be relied on as health or personal advice. Always seek the guidance of your doctor or other qualified health professional with any questions you may have regarding your health or a medical condition. Never disregard the advice of a medical professional, or delay in seeking it because of something you have read on this Website. If you think you may have a medical emergency, call your doctor, go to the nearest hospital emergency department, or call the emergency services immediately.